Ennio Morricone.

I don’t normally post personal news here, but in regards to this  I just had to. Like most filmmakers I’m a huge fan of Ennio Morricone’s work, due to a long love affair with Italian Cinema. I especially adore the Westerns of Sergio Leone. So, when in late November of 2011 I heard that Ennio Morricone was coming to Perth, I was elated. But then, life got in the way. Due to scheduling conflicts, workload and other things I just didn’t get tickets. Upon remembering he was coming to town, I was heartbroken that his show was sold out. But, I happen to have the most amazing woman in my life. She had got us the last two tickets.

Last night, we sat down to see the Maestro perform and it turned out to be one of the most incredible filmic moments of my life. He opened with the theme of ‘The Untouchables’, then followed it up with a selection of tracks from ‘Once Upon a Time in America’. I’m not ashamed to say that I teared up. I was hit with wave after wave of goosebumps. The highlight for me was his rendition of ‘The Ecstasy of the Gold’ from ‘The Good, The Bad and The Ugly’. They had even flown out an amazing Opera singer to accompany this very song. I was overjoyed. It moved me in a huge way, especially so that I was able to share this moment with my wonderful partner. So, thanks Gorgeous – I love you.

Leave a Reply

