On Development and Writing.

If anyone was to ask me if I wanted to be a Writer/Director, I’d have to say ‘No’. I’d say that I’m a director that writes. One of the most important lessons I’ve learned is that there are some damn fine writers out there- and they are better than you. So why not get them to help? As I write this, I have three short form projects on the boil, and having people to bounce your scripts off is so important. Especially if you work alongside people who know what they are doing.

It’s hard not being impatient when you are putting together a project, but getting the script right, and well, good, is more important than anything. Even if someone is telling you your ideas are rubbish, they are developing the script that one step closer to where it needs to be. It can take a long time to learn this lesson. When I started out, I never drafted my scripts enough. And it shows. How much better would my early films be if I listened to people, and got a real writer on board?

In the last 3 months I’ve written three shorts, and drafted the hell out of all three- with the help of people a great deal more talented than I am. From a Director’s point of view, I have much more confidence in the films because of this process. And it’s also because of this, that I’m so excited to get started on them. But that’s another story.

Leave a Reply

