On Serial Dramatic TV

Image

The best cinema happening today is on television. 

I know you’ve heard that before, but I can’t help but feel it’s true. Every major TV series there is, I’ve come to late. And each and everyone of them I’ve fallen in love with. I love stuff that’s dark, compelling  and paints it’s characters in a very grey way. Hence, I love Breaking Bad and Game of Thrones.

Now, I’m falling for True Detective. 

There’s a lot to be said about letting your characters breathe. There’s also a lot that DOESN’T need to be said. All three of these shows never rely on dialogue, and what dialogue there is, is very, very good. Cable television is now being called “creator driven content” and it shows.

There is real heart and soul that gets poured into these projects – and you can sense it in every frame.

There is such a huge divide between Serial Cable drama and Network drama. In fact, it’s kind of embarrassing to finish watching an episode of True Detective and then catch a little of some Network show. Artistically, they just can’t compete. 

The other wonderful thing, is that the millennial generation has grown up on these great shows and it wants them now. Which means it’s our job to cater to the demand.

I’ve been working on two very different IP’s at the moment – both of which are online serialized live action shows. Both of which cater to the audience first and foremost.

All I’ve wanted for years is to direct “My First Movie”.

But now? Man, I want to make the kind of TV that I’m watching. The kind of TV that is better than movies and people want more of.

It’s a new Age of Cinema on your laptop and I couldn’t be more excited.

WKS  

Leave a Reply

